Monthly Recipe: Yatsuhashi (八つ橋)

Hi guys,

Just yesterday I noticed Haikugirl’s (Ali’s) recipe post featuring none other than: Yatsuhashi!

Considering that I just made a competition post for JaPlanning to win some authentic Yatsuhashi, I thought I just had to have a go at it. You can find the recipe below the following comments.

I found all of the ingredients Ali lists below easily at a local Asian food grocers and it took me about an hour from start to finish. Here are my thoughts on this recipe:

  • Some recipe’s call for a 60/40 split of mochiko and joushinko (medium grain rice flour) but joushinko can be hard to find outside Japan. Substitute joushinko with potato starch for an authentic ‘mouth feel.’
  • I couldn’t find any kinako so I dusted my dough with 2 tbsp of rice flour and 1 tsp of cinnamon – it worked perfectly.
  • Once the dough is cooked and you’re ‘ready to roll’ (so to speak!) take a moment to soak your microwaveable dish and mixing implement in hot water – the left over dough will turn into a tough glue otherwise!
  • Commit to kneading the dough and to rolling it out as thinly as possible. I think this is what makes or breaks the recipe. As Ali suggests, cut your dough into halves or quarters and keep rolling to get it as thin as possible.
  • By accident I discovered that dipping a pastry brush in water and then into the mix of rice flour and cinnamon seals the yatsuhashi really well.
  • If you roll your dough very thinly cook your left-over pieces at a cooler temperature or for less time – mine burned a little. If I was to cook them again I’d probably do them at 160 C for 10 minutes with another 10 minutes in the oven after the heat is turned off.

My yatsuhashi turned out awesome and are very delicious. Thanks Ali for the great recipe!

I do have a lot of left-over bean paste though – any suggestions what to do with it?

.K.

One thought on “Monthly Recipe: Yatsuhashi (八つ橋)

  1. Pingback: Ryokan Ryokufuso Review | JaPlanning

Leave a Reply

