Guest Post! – 5 Reasons I Want to Go To Japan

Just to shake things up a bit, I have a fabulous guest post from DJ over at Friends of Friends Travel. DJ is an adventure/travel addict but hasn’t had the opportunity to experience Japan and it’s awesomeness just yet.

So these are his top 5 reasons for wanting to visit Japan.

Take it away, DJ…

Japan has always been one of those countries where I think, “I have no money to go there.” It always seems way too expensive for accommodation and food and…well, everything. However, I now know many people who have actually gone to Japan to visit, or are from Japan.

And with Friends of Friends Travel, I’m actually able to see those friends – or perhaps friends of those friends – who live in Japan and who might be able to put me up! Not paying for that expensive hotel in Tokyo now for sure!

And they say absence makes the heart grow fonder. Japan, I have not been able to see you, and so my longing for you has only grown. So here’s my top 5 things I’ve been dying to go to Japan for.

1. Mount Fuji

Mount Fuji

1.

Ok, so I know it’s a bit of a touristy thing and all of that but come on – it’s the highest mountain in Japan and a full on active volcano. And it’s iconic. It’s one of those things – I’d rank it alongside things like the Taj Mahal or the Great Barrier Reef or Stonehenge. You’ve just gotta go check it out.

2. Vending Machines

japlanning vending machine japan

2.

Having the strangest things available in vending machines is one of those legendary things about Japan. How true it is, I don’t know yet – I have yet to visit the land of the rising sun. But I want to find out!

3. ALL the Japanese temples!

Red Japanese temple lanterns japlanning

3.

You know when you go to Europe and you end up seeing this church and that church and another church and another church. My brother described himself at the end of our two week Europe trip as being “churched out”. Well I want to get “templed out” in Japan – because all the photos I’ve seen just make me want to go to them all!

4. Visit people I know there…and their families.

friends lake japlanning travel

4.

One of the best parts about Friends of Friends Travel is that I’m now able to see all the people I know in Japan, and where their friends are. I’m really keen to go and check out their lives over there – which many of them describe as so different from their lives elsewhere. Like Hong Kong, I think Tokyo is going to be one of those cities where you can have loads of fun there as a tourist, but you’re only going to have that truly incredible experience if a local is showing you around!

5. To experience Japanese hospitality

JaPlanning hospitality Japan

5.

Kally wrote about how Japanese hospitality saved her trip. Her article has really made me yearn to meet people like this – people whose automatic response to a stranger doing something wrong is to help them fix it, not to berate them for being wrong. I’ve heard countless stories like Kally’s and I can’t wait to explore it myself.

What are your top reasons to go to Japan?

About the author:

Daljeet Singh is co-founder of Friends of Friends Travel, a global marketplace which facilitates the free exchange of social travel services between you, your friends and your friends of friends. He’s a total Global Nomad/Third Culture Kid (having lived in Singapore, New Zealand, Brunei, Hong Kong and Australia all before he was 19) who’s recently moved to London, loves writing, dogs, too much television shows and way too much ice cream.

Image Credits:

[Image Credit (1): Flickr – Midorisyu]

[Image Credit (2): Flickr – AmyJane]

[Image Credit (3): Flickr – Davelau]

[Image Credit (4): Flickr – 87509590@N0o]

[Image Credit (5): Flickr – Dvids]

Are you desperate to visit Japan? Leave a comment, let us know why 🙂

Leave a Reply

